Schnuck Markets Receives Food Safety Award

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

Schnuck Markets Receives Food Safety Award

Schnuck Markets, Inc.’s corporate excellence in food safety and quality has enabled the regional retailer to capture the International Association for Food Protection (IAFP)’s highest honor, the coveted Black Pearl. In addition to overall food safety record, Schnucks was selected to receive the nonprofit group’s most prestigious award as a result of the grocer’s notable accomplishments in consumer and associate education and training; its proactive approach to recalls, facilities audits and crisis procedures; and its adherence to standards and support of the goals and objectives of IAFP.

Scott Schnuck, chairman and CEO of the eponymous family-held St. Louis-based grocery chain, called the Black Pearl award “a tremendous honor for our company and for our food safety team, and one we are pleased to share with associates, suppliers, vendors and health department partners across seven states. Their combined talents and willingness to acquire and share knowledge has helped us grow tremendously in efforts to protect the health and welfare of our customers.”

Schnuck, a member of the Food Marketing Institute’s (FMI) Food Safety Task Force, said food safety is an integral part of Schnucks’ corporate culture. “Schnucks associates have always been trained to put food safety first, but for the past several years, we have been building a formal program to provide education, training and certification to associates across the company,” he noted.

Dianna Pasley, director of food safety for the 105-store grocer, agrees. “Many of our top company leaders and associates are now certified in food safety. Yet we understand that food safety is an ongoing process that we must work hard to promote and protect each day.”

Comprising more than 3,400 food safety officials from 50 nations, Des Moines-based IAFP has for the past 15 years singled out one food organization as its Black Pearl recipient, which has been given annually in recognition of corporate excellence in food safety since 1994. Previous winners include Wegmans Food Markets, HEB, Ecolab, Dupont, Kraft and the Walt Disney Co.