Pictsweet’s Wells Inducted Into Frozen Food Hall of Fame

The American Frozen Food Institute (AFFI) and the National Frozen & Refrigerated Foods Association (NFRA) said that the Distinguished Order of Zerocrats has chosen Julia Wells of The Pictsweet Co. as the 2014 Frozen Food Hall of Fame inductee.

Wells will be honored at a Feb. 22 dinner during the AFFI Frozen Food Convention in San Diego, at the Manchester Grand Hyatt.

The VP of marketing services for Bells, Tenn.-based Pictsweet, Wells (left) was the first woman elected to the Food Institute’s board of directors in that organization’s more than 100-year history and a longtime association with AFFI, having served as chairman of the Nutrition Data Base, Convention and Category Promotion committees. In 2007, she was chairman of AFFI’s board of directors and currently chairs the AFFI Legislative Affairs committee and serves on the Frozen Food Foundation board of directors.

Wells has also participated in many local civic activities, among them being a Girl Scouts leader and board member, an American Red Cross recruiter, and a Relay for Life volunteer.

Family History

“Julia has been instrumental in helping The Pictsweet Co. grow and has been a true pioneer in championing frozen foods in our nation’s capital and to the American consumer,” said Kraig R. Naasz, president and CEO at McLean, Va.-based AFFI. “Thanks to Julia’s tireless efforts, Americans have a deeper appreciation for the key role frozen foods play in our daily lives.”

“It’s the dedication of individuals like her who make the growth and continued success of the frozen food industry possible,” added Skip Shaw, president and CEO at Harrisburg, Pa.-based NFRA. “And I believe it’s quite fitting that Julia will be joining her father, James O. Tankersley, who was inducted into the Frozen Food Hall of Fame in 2005.”

The Distinguished Order of Zerocrats’ members aim to promote the image of and advance the frozen food industry. The organization established the Frozen Food Hall of Fame in 1990 to honor those who have helped shape the industry through their hard work and dedication. Members nominate and vote on the newest inductees, and hold a special industry-wide ceremony to honor them.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds