FMI Calls for Store Manager Award Entries

The Food Marketing Institute (FMI) is calling for entries in the 2011 FMI Store Manager Awards, an annual program honoring supermarket store managers who drive sales growth, offer exemplary customer service, contribute to the attainment of company goals and are major players in the communities they serve. The awards program will be presented at the trade association’s industry leadership education event Future Connect, which is scheduled for May 10 through May 12, 2011, in Dallas.

“Store managers play an essential role in enhancing supermarket business operations,” said Leslie G. Sarasin, president and CEO of Arlington, Va.-based FMI. “They train and mentor their employees, work hard to provide excellent customer service and are actively involved in their communities.”

Companies may submit stories that show how a store manager created positive growth and customer satisfaction during the past 12 to 18 months. Entries will be evaluated based on overall content and the store manager’s ability to generate sales growth and positively affect the store’s total business, go above and beyond their ordinary duties in the areas of customer service and community relations, execute innovative in-store programs and special events that enhance overall customer service and community relations, demonstrate a balance between people skills and operations skills, and lead or mentor their stores’ associates.

Three grand-prize winners will each receive a $1,000 cash prize and a crystal award. Nine finalists, including the three grand-prize winners, will receive two free registrations to Future Connect and three nights of hotel accommodations in Dallas. Only store managers from FMI member companies who have worked at the same store for a minimum of one year are eligible.

Entries will be divided into three categories according to company size. Category A is for small retailers with one to 49 stores, Category B is for medium retailers with 50 to 199 stores, and Category C is for large retailers with 200 or more stores. Judges will choose three finalists and one grand-prize winner from each of these categories.

Last year’s winners were Dave McCleery, Russ’s Market, store director in Lincoln, Neb. (Category A); Sharon Boyett, Brookshire Grocery Co., store director in Monroe, La. (Category B); and Molly Stiles, The Kroger Co., manager in Farragut, Tenn. (Category C).

For more information, contact Meredith Esbeck at 202-220-0728 or [email protected].

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds