Skip to main content

United Fresh Names New Board Members, Sets New Structure

Tom Lovelace, e.v.p. of McEntire Produce, a fresh-cut processor, tomato re-packer and vegetable wholesaler, has been elected to lead United Fresh Produce Association as its new chairman, while Jim Lemke, s.v.p. for C. H. Robinson Worldwide, Inc., has been nominated as United Fresh's chairman-elect.

In addition, Michael Cavallero, president, North America Tropical Fresh Fruit/Dole Food Co., was nominated to a two-year term as secretary-treasurer while current board chairman Emanuel Lazopoulos, s.v.p./sales & product ,management for Del Monte Fresh Produce, N.A., will transition to immediate past chairman and remain on the board and the executive committee.
In other news, United Fresh's board has also implemented a new organizational structure for its volunteer leadership that will consist of four horizontal boards representing different market segments of the produce supply chain and four expert councils in cross-cutting issue areas. Leaders of these boards and councils will join together with at-large directors chosen proportionally to represent United Fresh's overall membership in forming a consolidated overall board.
The following industry leaders have been nominated to serve as the chairmen and vice chairmen of the new supply chain boards, beginning May 2008:
Retail-Foodservice Board
Chairman, Reggie Griffin, The Kroger Co., Cincinnati
Vice chairman, Mitch Smith, McDonald's Corp., Nampa, Idaho

Grower-Shipper Board:
Chairman, Al Vangelos, Sun World International, LLC
Vice chairman, Fred Williamson, Andrew & Williamson Fresh Produce

Fresh-Cut Processor Board
Chairman, Steffanie Smith, River Point Farms, LLC.
Vice chairman, Ron Midyett, Apio, Inc.

Wholesale-Distributor Board
Chairman, Matthew D'Arrigo, D'Arrigo Bros. Co.
Vice chairman, Brendan Comito, Capital City Fruit Co., Inc.
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds