Supervalu Elects Board Members at Meeting

Minneapolis-based Supervalu's shareholders elected several members to its board or directors yesterday during the company's annual meeting of shareholders.

The following individuals were elected for a three-year term expiring in 2011: Gary Ames, Philip L. Francis, Edwin C. Gage, Garnett L. Keith, Jr., and Marissa T. Peterson.

The Supervalu board currently consists of 14 members, all of whom are independent with the exception of Jeffrey Noddle, chairman and c.e.o.

During the annual meeting, shareholders also ratified the appointment of KPMG LLP as the company's independent auditors for fiscal 2009, voted down the proposal for a report on controlled-atmosphere killing, and approved a proposal to eliminate the company's current classified board structure in favor of annual election of all directors.
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds