Spartan Stores Elects Directors

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

Spartan Stores Elects Directors


Grocery distributor and retailer Spartan Stores Inc. this week hosted its 2011 annual meeting at which shareholders elected three directors to the board and approved compensation for company executives.

Shareholders elected Wendy A. Beck and Yvonne R. Jackson, and re-elected Elizabeth A. Nickels, to the board of directors for one-year terms expiring at the 2012 annual meeting.

Beck has been a director of Spartan Stores since October 2010. Currently executive VP and CFO of Norwegian Cruise Line, she was formerly CFO of Domino’s Pizza. Also a director since October 2010, Jackson is president of BeecherJackson, a human resources management consulting firm, and chairs the compensation committee on the board of Winn-Dixie Stores Inc. Nickels has been a director of Spartan Stores since 2000. She is currently president of Herman Miller Healthcare and executive VP of Herman Miller Inc.

In the company’s “say on pay” vote, shareholders approved the compensation of the company’s named executive officers. Shareholders also voted to hold future “say on pay’ votes annually; both votes were advisory and non-binding. In addition, shareholders ratified Deloitte & Touche LLP as the company’s independent auditors for fiscal year 2012.

Grand Rapids, Mich.-based Spartan Stores Inc. distributes more than 40,000 corporate and national brand products to approximately 375 independent locations in Michigan, Indiana and Ohio, and to 97 corporate-owned stores located in Michigan, including D&W Fresh Markets, Family Fare Supermarkets, Glen’s Markets and VG’s Food and Pharmacy.