Organic Trade Association Names 2006-2007 Officers

GREENFIELD, Mass. -- Jesse Singerman of Prairie Ventures will take the reins as president of the Organic Trade Association (OTA) at OTA's annual meeting May 6 in Chicago. The show is being held in conjunction with the 2006 All Things Organic Conference and Trade Show at McCormick Place.

Other officers for 2006-2007 include: Julia Sabin of Smucker Quality Beverages, v.p. representing the United States; Hélène Bouvier of Minnewashta Valley Organics Canada, Inc., v.p. representing Canada; Luis Acuña of CF Fresh, secretary; and Chuck Marcy of Marcy & Partners, treasurer.

In OTA's recent balloting, Phil Margolis of Neshaminy Valley Natural Foods Distributor, Lynn Clarkson of Clarkson Grain Company, and Maria Morgan of Small Planet Foods, Inc., were re-elected to the board. In addition, Dag Falck of Nature's Path was elected as the new Canadian representative. The board also has selected Todd Linsky of Cal/Organic-Grimmway Farms to fill an appointed position on the board. All four seats are three-year terms.

Other members on the board include Dave DeCou of the Organic Materials Review Institute, Theresa Marquez of Organic Valley/CROPP Cooperative, Matthew McLean of Uncle Matt's Organics, Inc., Marty Mesh of Florida Organic Growers/Quality Certification Services, and Mary Mulry of H.E. Butt Grocery Company.

Going off the board are Debra Boyle of SunOpta, Inc., and Nancy Hirshberg of Stonyfield Farm, Inc.

The mission of the Organic Trade Association is to promote and protect the growth of organic trade to benefit the environment, farmers, the public, and the economy. OTA's 1,700 members include farmers, processors, importers, exporters, distributors, retailers, certifiers, and more.
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds