LIVE FROM NGA: Doris Receives Zaucha Award

The National Grocers Association (NGA) presented Kevin Doris, president and CEO of Houston, Texas-based Gerland Corp., with the Thomas K. Zaucha Entrepreneurial Excellence Award, at the 2014 NGA Show in Las Vegas.

Doris, a 40-plus-year veteran of the grocery industry who most recently served as NGA’s treasurer, was recognized for his vision and commitment to adapting his business to meet the ever-changing ethnic and competitive landscape in Houston.

The Thomas K. Zaucha Award, named after NGA’s first president/CEO, has been presented annually since 2009 to recognize an independent grocer that exemplifies persistence, vision and creative entrepreneurship.

Additionally, the Clarence G. Adamy Great American Award was presented to Trygve “Trig” Solberg, chairman of T.A. Solberg Co. and current chairman of the NGA Grocers PAC (Political Action Committee). Solberg was instrumental in helping NGA launch PAC in late 2011 and has been a driving force behind its growth. Solberg recently completed his term as a member of NGA’s board of directors. 

The Women Grocers of American (WGA) Women of the Year Award was given to Tammy Bailey, president and co-owner of Rochester, Wash.-based Bailey’s IGA, and long-time member of the Washington Food Industry Association. In 2013, Bailey and her company were recognized as the IGA Retailer of the Year and Washington Food Industry Association Retailer of the Year. The Women of the Year Award recognizes an industry member who exemplifies strong leadership and passion for the independent grocery industry.

NGA presented the Spirit of America Award to Jim Rogers, former president and CEO of the Food Industry Alliance of New York and former board member of NGA. Established in 1982, the NGA Spirit of America Award honors key industry and community figures that have provided leadership in the areas of community services and government relations on behalf of a free and independent food distribution system. Rogers is also a past recipient of the NGA Association Leadership Award, presented annually to a state association executive.

The Thomas F. Wenning Pinnacle PAC Award was established this year to honor Thomas Wenning for his 40 years of service to NGA and the independent supermarket industry. Since NGA’s inception, Wenning has led NGA’s government relations operation and has been an advocate for the independent retail and wholesale grocer. This award, established in Wenning’s name, will be presented to an NGA member who helps advance the role and presence of the independent grocer and NGA in government and political affairs.

The National Grocers Association (NGA) is the national trade association representing the retail and wholesale grocers that comprise the independent sector of the food distribution industry.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds