Skip to main content

FMI Presenting 2015 Gold Plate Awards

In tandem with National Family Meals Month, the Food Marketing Institute (FMI) has revealed the winners of the 2015 Gold Plate Awards, which are bestowed on food retailers and manufacturers that have made mealtime more approachable, accessible and enjoyable for consumers.

"It's no secret that the family meal is taking on a new dynamic, which is ripe for opportunities for food retailers and their suppliers to cater to shifting needs of a new generation of families," said Cathy Polley, VP of health and wellness at Arlington, Va.-based FMI and the executive director of the FMI Foundation. "The Gold Plate Awards elevate how our industry is helping to bring families together and create healthy habits among consumers throughout the year."

The winners are:

  • Acme Fresh Market, The Surprising Power of Family Meals!: The goal of the campaign and the company's ongoing commitment to family meal promotion is to create an emotional attachment between its brand and customers.
  • Price Chopper, Family Mealtimes Matter: Launched in 2008 as a collaborative effort with Cornell Cooperative Extension educators, this program seeks to encourage healthier habits consistent with USDA and Dietary Guidelines for Americans, and to facilitate use of the NuVal Nutrition Scoring system. Today the program counts New York state's SNAP Education program, Eat Smart New York and The Times Union newspaper as partners.
  • Ahold USA, Savory: Fast, Fresh and Easy: With the aim of helping customers save time and money while eating well, this new meal platform offers recipe resources, budget-friendly tips and coupons, and time-saving solutions for making easy-to-prepare family meals every day.
  • Mars, Ben's Beginners: This national program from the Uncle Ben's brand helps children develop healthier eating habits by learning how to cook, and also encourages parents to connect with their kids in the kitchen.

The awards will be presented the evening of Sept. 9 in a reception on Washington, D.C.'s Capitol Hill. Winners will each receive $1,000 and a commemorative trophy.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds