Skip to main content

United Fresh Opens Noms for Outstanding Produce Managers

United Fresh is now accepting nominations for the 2017 Retail Produce Manager awards program, which will recognize 25 outstanding candidates for their innovative merchandising, produce-related community outreach, increased store sales and recognition among company peers.

Now in its 13th year, the Retail Produce Manager awards program, sponsored by Dole Food Co., gives special recognition to produce managers on the front line in supermarkets, working every day to increase sales and consumption of fresh fruits and vegetables. 

“This program is a powerful way for retailers to recognize their outstanding produce managers for their hard work and commitment to the industry,” said Greg Corrigan, senior director of produce and floral for West Sacramento, Calif.-based Raley’s Family of Fine Stores and chairman of United Fresh’s Retail-Foodservice board. “The winning produce managers are recognized as leaders in their field, and excellent representatives of the produce industry for our customers. We have made this a very important aspect of staff development at Raley’s.”

Twenty-five winners, along with their corporate produce directors, will receive complimentary airfare, hotel accommodations and registration to United Fresh 2017, taking place June 13-15 in Chicago. The winners will be formally honored at the Retail-Foodservice celebration dinner on Thursday, June 15, at which five grand-prize winners will be revealed as recipients of an additional $1,000 cash prize.

“Dole, like all members of United Fresh that grow and farm fresh produce, wouldn’t be successful without the knowledge, passion and day-to-day dedication of the produce manager,” said Howard Roeder, president of Monterey, Calif.-based Dole Fresh Vegetables “They stand on the front line of our industry and represent our products to the shopper. For that, we are very grateful.”

Since the program’s inception, nearly 300 produce managers from more than 90 retail banners have been honored. Nomination forms for the 2017 program may be accessed here and must be received by Friday, Jan. 6, 2017.


This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds