Skip to main content

United Fresh Nominates 2016-17 Board Officers, Directors

United Fresh Produce Association Immediate Past Chairman Ron Carkoski, of Four Seasons Family of Cos., has revealed the slate of new officers and directors nominated to serve on the trade organization’s board of directors. The appointments will take effect at United Fresh’s April 27 meeting in Colorado Springs, Colo.

The new chairman of the board will be Tony Freytag, SVP, sales and marketing for Cashmere, Wash.-based Crunch Pak. Freytag is current chairman‐elect of the board. Nominated as chairman‐elect is Susan Reimer‐Sifford, director, produce and bakery purchasing and distribution for Orlando, Fla.-based Darden. In that role, Reimer-Sifford oversees procurement, distribution and quality assurance of all fruit and vegetable items for such popular restaurant concepts as Olive Garden, LongHorn Steakhouse, Bahama Breeze, Seasons 52, The Capital Grille, Eddie V’s and Yard House restaurants.

Lisa Strube, director of finance and administration for Chicago-based Strube Celery & Vegetable Co., will continue to serve in an ongoing term as secretary‐treasurer, while current Chairman of the Board Brian W. Kocher, COO of Wilder, Ky.-based Castellini Co. LLC, will become immediate past chairman and remain on the board and executive committee.

The following industry leaders have been nominated to serve as new members of the United Fresh board for two‐year terms beginning April 2016: Shannon Arias, Chick‐fil‐A Inc.; Tom Brugato, Pacific Coast Fruit Co.; Danny Dumas, Del Monte Fresh Produce N.A. Inc.; Sarah Frey‐Talley, Frey Farms and Tsamma Juice; John Jackson, Beachside Produce LLC; Douglas Kling, Village Farms International Inc.; Mark Klompien, Idaho Grower Shippers Association; John McGuire, Lineage Logistics; David McInerney, Fresh Direct; Ken Moynihan, Compac; and Brent Scattini, Gold Coast Packing Inc. Additionally, current board member Bob Meek, of Utah Onions, has been nominated to the position of chairman of the Grower‐Shipper Board.

The following officers of market segment boards and councils will continue to serve on the board:

  • Chairman, Fresh Start Foundation: Jim Lemke, Robinson Fresh
  • Chairman, Fresh‐Cut Board: Bob Swartwout, Direct Advantage LLC
  • Chairman, Wholesaler Distributor Board: Bob Kirch, Caito Foods Service
  • Vice Chairman, Wholesaler‐Distributor Board: Jackie Caplan Wiggins, Frieda's Inc.
  • Chairman, Retail‐Foodservice Board: Greg Corrigan, Raley’s Family of Fine Stores
  • Chairman, Finance and Business Management Council: Jason Pounds, Hardie’s Fresh Foods
  • Chairman, Food Safety & Technology Council: Suresh DeCosta, Lipman
  • Chairman, Government Relations Council: Charles Wingard, Walter P. Rawl & Sons Inc.
  • Chairman, Produce Marketing & Merchandising Council: Cindy Jewell, California Giant Berry Farms

The following at‐large board members will continue their service on the Board: Brian Antle, Tanimura & Antle; Bill Brim, Lewis Taylor Farms; Mark Campion, Taylor Farms Inc.; Bret Erickson, Texas International Produce Association; Rudi Groppe, Heinzen Manufacturing International; Fred Heptinstall, Fresh Market Strategies LLC; Steve Jarzombek, Roundy's Supermarkets Inc.; Bob Mast, CMI; Paul Mastronardi, Mastronardi Produce Ltd.; Michael Muzyk, Baldor Specialty Foods Inc.; Mike Orf, Hy‐Vee, Inc.; Gordon Robertson, Sun World International LLC; Howard Roeder, Dole Fresh Vegetables Inc.; Mike Spinazzola, Diversified Restaurant Systems; Mario Steta, Driscoll's; Dorn Wenninger, Walmart; and Ross Wileman, Mission Produce Inc.

Board members concluding their service at the upcoming meeting include: Carkoski, Bill Brooks, Westlake Produce Co.; Jim Catchot, Renaissance Food Group; Tom Deardorff, Deardorff Family Farms; Aaron Fox, Fox Packaging, Kenny Lund, Allen Lund Co. Inc.; Carissa Mace, Fresh Produce & Floral Council; Lisa McNeece Miceli, Grimmway Enterprises Inc.; Bob Morrissey, National Watermelon Association, Inc.; and Rob Schrick, Bayer Crop Science.

“The strength of our association stems from the strong and diverse leadership on the United Fresh board of directors,” noted Tom Stenzel, president and CEO of the Washington, D.C.-based association. “These men and women who have been nominated to serve on our board of directors, along with our returning board members and new officers, make a tremendously talented slate of industry leaders. Their collective insights and expertise will ensure we have a powerful voice representing our membership and our industry.”

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds