National Turkey Federation Elects 2011 Chairman

The National Turkey Federation's board of directors elected Rick Huisinga to serve as the federation's 2011 chairman. Huisinga is EVP of Willmar Poultry Company in Willmar, Minn.

In addition to serving on NTF's executive committee and board of directors, Huisinga is also on Minnesota Turkey Growers Association's Breeder Hen and Research Funding committees and is a member of the General Conference Committee on the National Poultry Improvement Plan.

Huisinga began his career at Willmar Poultry Company in 1983 in the research and development department after attending school in California and at the University of Minnesota.

During his acceptance speech at NTF's annual convention, Huisinga noted, "I'm a pragmatic person, and I believe that using common sense and simply doing the right thing will serve us well to mitigate the numerous regulatory and legislative issues our industry will continue to face in this strange political climate. Whether it is talking about environmental stewardship, the responsible use of antibiotics, or food safety practices, we can all do the right thing by being a part of the public affairs process."

At the NTF convention, the board of directors also elected Steve Willardsen, president, Cargill Value Added Meats, as vice chairman; and John Burkel, director, Northern Pride, Inc., as secretary-treasurer. Yubert Envia, VP of turkey and prepared foods, Foster Farms, assumes the position of immediate past chairman.

The board also reelected Gary Cooper, Cooper Farms; Jihad Douglas, Aviagen Turkeys; Paul Hill, West Liberty Foods; Ron Prestage, Prestage Farms; John Reicks, Sara Lee Food and Beverage; Ted Seger, Farbest Foods, Inc.; and Carl Wittenburg, Protein Alliance, Inc., to the Executive Committee (EC).

The board elected Jim Leighton, Perdue Farms, Inc., to his first term as an EC member.

After the board meeting, the elected EC members appointed Jeff Sveen, Dakota Provisions, as an at-large member.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds