Skip to main content

Meijer Honored for Ad Campaigns

The 2017 American Advertising Awards honored superstore retailer Meijer with 10 awards for its creative excellence in advertising, including Best in Show and Judge’s Choice, at this week’s American Advertising Federation West Michigan ("ADDY") awards ceremony.

Meijer was recognized for “Beer Frontier,” “Mmmmeat Thanksgiving,” “More Meijer” and its holiday Twitter videos. The Meijer holiday commercial “Do You See What I See” won Best in Show, and the “Halloween Scary Candy” scenes won Judge’s Choice. Both campaigns also won Gold in their respective categories.

“The work that our creative teams and agency partners produce on behalf of Meijer has been outstanding,” said Nicole Laughlin, Meijer’s VP of brand development and marketing. “We are thrilled to have our campaigns recognized by the industry; however, we are even prouder that the campaigns resonated so strongly with our customers. To us, our most important judge is the Meijer customer.”

ADDY Awards judge Anthony Atwood said that Meijer’s “Do You See What I See” video “did it right from start to finish. From the beautiful cinematography [and] the overall way it was shot, to the way that the entire story unfolded. It was top-notch.”

The ADDY Awards is the industry’s largest competition, with more than 40,000 entries showcasing the best in each market. In the District 6 region, Meijer competed against submissions from Michigan, Indiana and Illinois.

In addition to its Best in Show and Judge’s Choice honors, Meijer won Gold for its Social Media Campaign – "Halloween Scary Candy" and Regional/National TV Commercial Campaign – "Do You See What I See"; Silver for its microsites for Beer Frontier Mmmmeat Thanksgiving, and Photography Campaign – Mmmmeat Thanksgiving; and Bronze for Social Media Campaign – Holiday Twitter Videos, Blog – Beer Frontier and Regional/National TV Commercial Campaign – "More Meijer."

Grand Rapids, Mich.-based Meijer operates 230 supercenters and grocery stores throughout Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky and Wisconsin. 


This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds