Hy-Vee Gives 7 Employees 'Legendary Customer Service' Awards

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

Hy-Vee Gives 7 Employees 'Legendary Customer Service' Awards

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa - Hy-Vee Inc. based here presented seven associates with its 2007 Legendary Customer Service Awards -- the employee-owned company's highest honor, which recognizes employees who go above and beyond Hy-Vee's already high standards when it comes to taking care of customers.

The seven Hy-Vee employees are: Vicki Tice, pharmacy technician at Marshalltown Drugstore; Chris O'Hanlon, personnel manager at the Village Dr. Hy-Vee; Ethel Nielsen, long-time Cedar Falls Hy-Vee associate; Javier Morales-Meza, who works in the kitchen at the Hy-Vee on 18th St.; Toni Doster, pharmacy manager at Hy-Vee's Columbia store; Jim Cain, assistant manager at Hy-Vee's Quincy Ave. location; and Loran Whitlatch, driver at the company's Chariton Distribution Center.

The seven Legendary Service Award winners represent each of the company's operational territories and its office/distribution centers.

Hy-Vee said nominations are evaluated on the employee's overall contributions to the company in nine areas: passion for customer service, attitude, initiative, teamwork, problem-solving skills, dedication to Hy-Vee fundamentals, communication skills, professional image and self-confidence.

Winners enter the Hy-Vee Legendary Customer Service Hall of Fame, established solely for award recipients. In addition to the Hall of Fame induction, the seven associates will receive a Legendary Customer Service name badge and a custom-designed ring. They will also be the guests of honor at a company service award dinner in October, which honors employees for longevity of service in five-year increments, from five to 45 years.

With 224 retail stores in seven Midwestern states, Hy-Vee, Inc. is an employee-owned corporation, For 2006, the company recorded total sales of $5.3 billion, ranking it among the top 20 supermarket chains and the top 40 private companies in the U.S.