Wegman, Smucker to Receive GMA Hall of Achievement Awards

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

Wegman, Smucker to Receive GMA Hall of Achievement Awards


Daniel Wegman, CEO of Rochester, N.Y.-based Wegmans Food Markets, and Timothy Smucker, chairman of the board of The J. M. Smucker Co. in Orrville, Ohio, will receive 2013 Grocery Manufacturers Association (GMA) Hall of Achievement Awards at the GMA Chairman’s Lecture on Jan. 19 in Scottsdale, Ariz. The Hall of Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Washington, D.C.-based trade association.

“Danny Wegman and Tim Smucker are pioneers and leaders in the food and beverage industry,” said GMA president and CEO Pamela G. Bailey. “Not only have they grown and lead two of the most successful, trusted and admired CPG companies in the United States, both have worked tirelessly to make our industry better and more successful with their boundless passion, creativity, determination and unselfish leadership style. It is only fitting that these two men, who partnered on so many innovative solutions throughout their professional lives, will receive GMA’s highest honor at the same time.”

Under Danny Wegman’s guidance, Wegmans has become a $6.2 billion family-friendly franchise. From his work on data synchronization, Efficient Consumer Response (ECR) and the New Ways of Working Together program, to his tenures as chairman of the Food Marketing Institute (FMI), GS1 US, GS1 Global and the FMI Food Safety Task Force, Wegman has been a leader in uniting retailers and manufacturers.

Tim Smucker has held such roles as chairman, president, COO and co-chief executive at J.M. Smucker Co. As VP of planning in the 1970s, he introduced a more modern approach to strategic, tactical and operational planning, a theme that would continue throughout his career. He’s well known for advocating for business standards, supply chain innovations and advanced technologies that have helped move the entire industry forward.

At GMA, Smucker has served on the board of directors, the executive committee and the board committee on health and wellness, and continues to implement innovative industry technology and standards as vice chairman and chairman emeritus for the management board of GS1.

Established in 1984, the GMA Hall of Achievement Award honors the extraordinary service and contributions of the consumer packaged goods industry’s most distinguished leaders. Past recipients include A.G. Lafley of Cincinnati-based Procter & Gamble, Doug Conant of Camden, N.J.-based Campbell Soup Co., and Ric Jurgens of West Des Moines, Iowa-based Hy-Vee Inc.

The GMA Chairman’s Lecture will take place Jan. 18-19 in conjunction with the FMI Executive Midwinter Conference, and the Hall of Achievement Awards will be presented as part of the Chairman’s Lecture dinner program.