Village Super Market Appoints New Directors

The board of directors of Village Super Market, Inc. has elected Peter R. Lavoy, Stephen F. Rooney, Nicholas Sumas, John J. Sumas and Kevin Begley as members.

With 40 years of executive experience in the New Jersey retail grocery industry, Lavoy retired in December 2006 from co-op grocery chain Foodtown, Inc. as president and COO. Since 2004 he has served on the board of trustees of the Food Institute. Lavoy has been appointed to the Village Super Market board’s Audit Committee and Compensation Committee.

Rooney has been a financial analyst with Standard & Poor’s asset-backed securities group for the past 13 years. Before that, he was a corporate lending officer with CoreStates Bank, in which he focused on the retail industry, with a specialty in supermarket lending. Rooney has been appointed to the board’s Audit Committee.

Having held a variety of supervisory positions since joining the company in 1994, Nicholas Sumas has been Village Super Market VP since 2007. He currently oversees store operations and perishables, as well as serving on various committees of Wakefern Food Corp.

John J. Sumas has been head of Village Super Market Inc.’s legal department since 2002, and became VP-general counsel in 2007. He has also been director of human resources since 2000 and serves on several Wakefern committees. Sumas has been appointed to the board’s Compensation Committee.

Begley has been Village Super Market’s CFO since 1987, and has also served as treasurer since 2002.

Village Super Market, based in Springfield, N.J., operates 26 ShopRite supermarkets in New Jersey and eastern Pennsylvania. Keasbey, N.J.-based Wakefern, the largest retailer-owned cooperative in the United States, comprises 45 members that individually own and operate 245 supermarkets under the ShopRite & PriceRite banners
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds