Skip to main content

United Fresh Names 2008 Retail Produce Manager Award Winners

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- United Fresh Produce Association has named 25 outstanding produce managers representing 20 different retail supermarket chains, commissaries and independents in 17 states as winners of its 2008 Retail Produce Manager Award Winners.

"This year's winners are among the very top performers at store level," said Tom Stenzel, United Fresh president. "These are the individuals on the front line of produce sales, and we're glad to say a small 'thank you' to these men and women on behalf of the entire produce industry."
The 25 winners, selected from some 200 nominations submitted by retail chains, independent supermarkets and produce suppliers across the industry, will be honored at the during the Chairman's Reception & Annual Awards Banquet at the United Fresh convention on Tues., May 6 at the Bally's Las Vegas Hotel.

This year's outstanding retail produce manager winners include:
Robert Cardwell, Raley's, Fairfield, Calif.
Gary Clay, Raley's Santa Rosa, Calif.
Kevin Colligan, Brookshire Grocery Co., Lafayette, La.
Terry Cox, Foodtown Supermarket, Lambertville, Mich.
Eddie Duncan, Food Lion, LLC, Gate City, Vir.
Todd Fenton, Safeway, Inc., Seaside, Ore.
Brian Gabb, Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc., Chalmette, La.
Jake Harding, Hy-Vee, Inc., Omaha, Neb.
Neil Hartley, Harris Teeter Supermarkets, Kill Devil Hills, N.C.
Angela Hopson, K-VA-T Foods, Big Stone Gap, Vir.
Amy Kirk, Safeway, Inc., University Place, Wash.
Mark Leung, Smith's Food & Drug Stores, Midvale, Utah
Harry Lewis, Luke AFB Commissary, Glendale, Ariz.
Paul Lopez, Vons, Paso Robles, Calif.
David Meier, Safeway, Inc., Auburn, Calif.
James Molloy, Hannaford Brothers Company, Nashua, N.H.
John Monahan, Price Chopper Supermarkets/Golub Corporation, Marlboro, Mass.
Ken Peche, BKT Sentry Foods, Wakesha, Wis.
Greg Reinhart, Hy-Vee, Inc., Marshall, Minn.
Nancy Riekena, The Kroger Co., Peoria, Ill.
Julie Rodriguez, Smith's Food & Drug Stores, Bozeman, Mt.
Bernard Rogers, Jewel Osco, DeKalb, Ill.
John Schwenk, Bristol Farms, Newport Beach, Calif.
Richard Thompson, Meijer, Okemos, Mich.
Ismael Vela, Wal-Mart Stores Inc., Edinburg, Texas

Sponsored by Ready Pac Foods, Inc., the United Fresh Retail Produce Manager awardees are selected based on their efforts to increase produce consumption through everyday excellence in merchandising, special displays and promotions, community service, and commitment to total customer satisfaction.'
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds