United Fresh Installs New Officers, Board Members

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The United Fresh Produce Association is poised to install its new officers and board members at its upcoming meeting this weekend.

Emanuel Lazopoulos, s.v.p./N.A., sales, marketing and product management for Coral Gables, Fla.-based Del Monte Fresh Produce, will ascend to board chairman, while Tom Lovelace, e.v.p., Columbia, S.C.-based McEntire Produce, will assume vice chairmanship. Board co-chairs Maureen Marshall, v.p./Torrey Farms Inc. and Mark Miller, president/owner, Fresh From Texas, will remain on the board and the executive committee for one year. In addition, Steffanie Smith, president, deli/prepared foods, Taylor Farms, will continue to serve as secretary-treasurer.

The following industry leaders have been elected to serve on the United Fresh board for a two-year term beginning May 2007:
Charles Hall, executive director, Georgia Fruit and Vegetable Growers Association, LaGrange, Ga.; Ashley Rawl, director of sales and marketing, Walter P. Rawl & Sons, Inc., Pelion, S.C.; Mitch Smith, director U.S. Quality Systems Agricultural Products, McDonalds's Corp., Nampa, Ida., Jay Taylor, president, Taylor & Fulton, Inc., Palmetto, Fla. and Rick Urschel, v.p./operations, Urschel Laboratories, Inc., Valparaiso, Ind.

In addition to the new members, the following current members will continue service on the United Fresh board, including: Nelia Alamo, Gills Onions; Ron Anderson, Safeway, Inc.; Rick Antle, Tanimura & Antle; David Barney, Bakkavor; Barry Bedwell, California Grape & Tree Fruit League; Matthew Caito, Imagination Farms; Charles Ciruli, Jr., Ciruli Brothers/Amex Distributing Co., Inc.; Brendan Comito, Capital City Fruit Company, Inc.; Peter John Condakes, Peter Condakes Company, Inc.; and Richard Dahl, Dole Food Co.

Other current members also include: Matthew D'Arrigo, D'Arrigo Brothers; Pete Donlon, Earthbound Farm; Reggie Griffin, The Kroger Co.; Alan Heinzen, Heinzen Manufacturing International; Mark G. Hilton, Harris Teeter; Lawrence Kern, Kern Associates; Bob Kistinger, Chiquita Fresh Worldwide; Bruce Knobeloch, River Ranch Fresh Foods, LLC; James Lemke, C. H. Robinson Worldwide, Inc.; Robin Poynton, One Harvest; John Shelford, Naturipe Farms, LLC; Victor Smith, Fresh Innovations, LLC; Walter Strickland, Strickland Produce, Inc.; Alan Temple, B & W Quality Growers, Inc.; Nicholas Tompkins, Apio, Inc.; Alessandro Turatti, Turatti Srl; Timothy R. Vaux, Vaux Group, Inc.; Robert Whitaker, Ph.D., NewStar Fresh Foods, LLC; Frederick M. Williamson, Andrew & Williamson Fresh Produce.

Outgoing United Fresh board members include: Gary Black, Condies Foods, Inc.; Elisa Spungen Bildner, RLB Food Distributors/FreshPro; Parker Booth, Fresh Express, Inc.; Ronald F. Carkoski, Four Seasons Produce, Inc.; Jan DeLyser, California Avocado Commission; Walter (Drew) Duda, Jr., Duda Farm Fresh Foods, Inc.; Jan Fleming, Strube Celery & Vegetable Co.; Steve Grinstead, Pro*Act, LLC; Hugh Topper, H-E-B Grocery Co.; and Michael J. Wootton, Sunkist Growers, Inc.
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds