United Fresh 2011 to Honor Women in Produce

The United Fresh Produce Association is now accepting nominations for its annual reception honoring Women in Produce, May 3, at the Washington, D.C.-based trade association’s annual convention and trade show in New Orleans.

United Fresh annually recognizes the contributions of all women working in the produce industry and recognizes one outstanding female industry leader at the reception, which has become one of the most popular features of the annual convention.

“This is a celebration of women and the essential roles they have played in shaping and guiding the produce industry,” said Victoria Backer, SVP, member services for United Fresh. “This annual reception is an opportunity to showcase the contributions of these thought-leaders, role models, and opinion-drivers and we’re looking forward to honoring all women in the produce industry in New Orleans.”

Nominations may be submitted here and must be received by Friday, March 11.

Past Women in Produce honorees include Tonya Antle, Tanimura & Antle; Frieda Caplan, Frieda’s, Inc.; Margaret D’Arrigo-Martin, D’Arrigo Brothers of California; Jan DeLyser, California Avocado Commission; Jan Fleming, Strube Celery & Vegetable Company; Janice Honigberg, Sun Belle, Inc.; Lorri Koster, Mann Packing Co.; Kathleen Nave, California Table Grape Commission; Dr. Martha Rhodes-Roberts, University of Florida, Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences; Steffanie Smith, River Point Farms, LLC; Heather Shavey, Costco Wholesale; Rosemary Talley, Talley Farms; and Jenney Tenney, The Kroger Co.

For more information, contact Angela Tiwari at 202-303-3400, ext. 416 or [email protected].

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds