UFFVA Recognizes Outstanding Retail Produce Managers

Washington, D.C. – The United Fresh Fruit & Vegetable Association will honor 12 winners of its Retail Produce Manager Award for 2005, at the upcoming United Produce Show to be co-located with the FMI show, April 30-May 3, in Chicago.

The 12 winners are:

Todd Alston, Brookshire Grocery Company, Tyler, TX

Joel Bowman, Food City K-VA-T, Bristol, TN

Eleno Davila, Safeway, Inc. Puyallup, WA

Frank Garcia, H-E-B, Portland, TX

Dawn Hanson, Nash Finch, St. James, MN

Jay Kempker, Hy-Vee Food Stores, Mt. Pleasant, Iowa

Vincent Mochocki, Albertsons/Jewel-Osco Division, Glendale Heights, IL

Tim Oldenkamp, Safeway, Inc., Bainbridge Is., WA

Mark Saucedo, H-E-B, Austin, TX

Wade VanGinkel, Kings Sooper City Markets, El Jebel, CO

John Weaver, Hy-Vee Food Stores, Cedar Rapids, IA

Dave Weber, Fred Meyer, Bend, OR

The dozen produce managers are being recognized for their outstanding efforts to increase produce consumption through everyday excellence in merchandising, special displays and promotions, community service, and commitment to total customer satisfaction.

All winners will be recognized during United’s Annual Awards Breakfast Monday, May 2. Several winners will also share their advice on increasing produce success at store level, during the Retail Marketing Business Conference on Saturday, April 30.

Winners were selected from competitive applications submitted by retail chains, independent supermarkets, and United members across the country.

"All of the applicants are to be commended for their great work," said Mike Kemp, produce director of Save A Lot, United board member, and chairman of the Retail Produce Manager Awards Committee. "The committee had a difficult job in selecting only 12 from the many outstanding applications that we received. The level of enthusiasm and creativity that managers across the country are using to promote produce is truly inspiring."
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds