Siefken Wins FMI MacManus Association Executive Award

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

Siefken Wins FMI MacManus Association Executive Award

Kathy Siefken, the executive director of the Nebraska Grocery Industry Association, has received the Food Marketing Institute (FMI) Donald H. MacManus Association Executive Award for her professional skills, knowledge and passion for the industry, as well as her efforts in the legislative arena. A presentation ceremony was held at the Washington Public Policy Conference hosted by FMI, the National Grocers Association and Food Industry Association Executives (FIAE).

“Kathy Siefken has served as a stellar industry advocate, an excellent communicator on issues of importance and a committed leader focused on the vitality of the food industry,” noted award presenter Leslie G. Sarasin, FMI’s president and CEO.

Over her 17 years at the helm of Nebraska Grocery Industry Association, Siefken has tirelessly worked on such issues of concern to the food industry as food taxes, school vending laws, credit card interchange fees, the Women, Infants and Children (WIC) program, health care reform and the Employee Free Choice Act (EFCA). Additionally, her influence reaches beyond her own state: through the FIAE, she has represented state food and retail association leaders across America. In 2009, Siefken was chairman of the FIAE board of directors.

Now in its 20th year, the annual Donald H. MacManus Association Executive Award honors an association executive for extraordinary leadership in public affairs, industry relations and community relations. The award’s namesake was executive director of the Rocky Mountain Food Dealers Association, FMI’s Western Region director and a Colorado state senator.