PG’s Major Selected as Finalist for Top Journalism Award

Progressive Grocer editorial director Meg Major has been named a finalist in 59th Annual Jesse H. Neal Awards competition for editorial excellence by ABM, the association of business information and media companies.

As one of 184 finalists selected by a distinguished board of judges, PG’s Major is nominated in the “Best Commentary” category for her Last Word editorials.

Often referred to as "the Pulitzer Prize of the business media," ABM's Neal Awards recognize editorial excellence in business-to-business media and are among the industry's most prestigious and sought-after editorial honors.

The judging panel, chaired by Diana Henriques of the New York Times, selected the finalists from an original pool of 640 entries. The winners will be revealed on March 12 during ABM’s annual Neal Awards ceremony at Pier Sixty in New York City.

“We at ABM are so proud to honor these journalists and editors," said ABM president/CEO Clark Pettit. "Their expertise, ability to push progress across existing and new channels, and successful track records of informing the industry on important issues place them at the forefront of their fields.”

In addition to PG's selection as a Neal Awards finalist, its sister Convenience Store News was also selected as double Neal Awards finalist for its October 2012 issue and “A Day in the Life of Maverik” report, which are vying for top honors in Best Issue and Best Profile categories, respectively.

Hosts for the 59th Jesse H. Neal awards ceremony will be CBS correspondent Erin Moriarty and Rebecca Jarvis, co-host of CBS This Morning: Saturday, host of The Startup with Rebecca Jarvis and a CBS News business & economics correspondent. The awards event will begin with a lunch, followed by the ceremony and cocktail reception.

Established in 1955, the Jesse H. Neal Awards recognize and reward editorial excellence in business media. The awards are named after ABM’s first managing director, who remained active in promoting the industry throughout his life. The Neal Awards are presented annually to those editors who have submitted entries exhibiting journalistic enterprise, service to the field and editorial craftsmanship.

Entries are divided into three classifications according to the publication’s advertising and circulation revenue, with 13 editorial categories within each size classification and seven categories that do not require revenue figures. Material must have been published between December 1, 2011, and November 30, 2012.

Founded in 1906, ABM is positioned at the center of the global b-to-b ecosystem. As the only industry association focused on the entire b-to-b business model - data, events, information, marketing services and media - ABM delivers intelligence to industry professionals worldwide, including Madison Avenue, Wall Street and the Beltway. ABM’s 200-plus member companies reach an audience of more than 100 million professionals and represent nearly 4,000 print and online titles and over 1,000 trade shows, with more than $20 billion in annual revenues.

A full list of 2013 Neal Award finalists can be found here.

Progressive Grocer’s and CSNews’ parent company, Stagnito Media, is among the nation’s fastest growing B-to-B media organizations and publishes and produces other leading brands and events such as: Private Label ⇒ Store Brands, The Gourmet Retailer, Hispanic Retail 360 and Retail Leader, among others.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds