NGA Elects New Board Members at Annual Convention

ARLINGTON, Va. -- The National Grocers Association (NGA) here elected and appointed six new members to its board of directors at the association's 2008 Annual Convention and Supermarket Synergy Showcase, held Feb. 5 to Feb. 8 at the Paris Las Vegas Hotel in Las Vegas.

Retailer members newly elected/appointed to the board include:

-- Mike Byars, president and c.e.o., Minyard Food Stores, Inc., Coppell, Texas
Minyard Food Stores consists of 65 supermarkets and warehouse stores, and is served by Associated Wholesale Grocers, Inc.

-- Gerry Norkus, president, Norkus Enterprises, Inc., Pt. Pleasant Beach, N.J.
Norkus Enterprises operates seven stores, and is served by DiGiorgio Corp.

-- Jim Nilsson Jr., president, Geissler's Supermarkets, East Windsor, Conn.
Geissler's operates six supermarkets, and is served by Buzzuto's, Inc.

Newly elected wholesalers include:

-- George Lankford, president & c.e.o., Affiliated Foods, Inc., Amarillo, Texas
Affiliated Foods in Amarillo serves over 720 stores in Texas, New Mexico, and four other south and western states.

-- Marc Smith, co-president, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Keene, N.H.
C&S Wholesale Grocers serves 4,000 stores in the Northeast and throughout the United States.

The newly elected state association executive is Jim Rogers, president and c.e.o., Food Industry Alliance of NY State, Albany, N.Y.

The board of directors also re-elected retailers Larry Collins, president, Collins Family Markets, Philadelphia; Roger Collins, president and c.e.o., Harp's Food Stores, Inc., Springdale, Ark.; Jay Lawrence, president, Lawrence Brothers, Sweetwater, Texas; Rich Niemann Jr., c.e.o./president, Niemann Foods, Inc., Quincy, Ill.; Trygve Solberg, chairman, T.A. Solberg Co., Inc., Minocqua, Wis.; and Mike Stone, president and c.e.o./founder, Mollie Stone's Markets, Mill Valley, Calif.

The board of directors also re-elected the following wholesalers to the board: Martin Arter, president, Affiliated Foods Midwest, Norfolk, Neb.; Michael Bozzuto, chairman, president and c.e.o., Bozzuto's, Inc., Cheshire, Conn.; and Dean Sonnenberg, president/c.e.o., URM Stores, Inc., Spokane, Wash.
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds