Skip to main content

NFRA Elects Bi-Lo’s David Welch Board Chairman

The National Frozen & Refrigerated Foods Association (NFRA) has elected David Welch, director of business support for Bi-Lo Holdings LLC, as its chairman.

The election took place on Oct. 13 during the National Frozen & Refrigerated Foods Convention in Orlando, Fla.

Having served on the board since 2008, Welch was vice chairman-refrigerated in 2011-12, secretary in 2012-13 and chairman-elect in 2013-14. He's also a member of the Honorable Order of Golden Penguins. Before taking on his current role at Jacksonville, Fla.-based Bi-Lo Holdings, Welch was the grocer's director of dairy & frozen foods for five years. He has held a range of positions over his 47 years with the company, having begun his career working in Winn-Dixie retail stores.

Other officers sworn in at the meeting were Scott Rouse, Tyson Foods Inc., chairman-elect; Joy Sgro, Bozzuto's Inc., secretary; Ray Tarnowski, Philadelphia Warehouse & Cold Storage, treasurer; Dave Jones, Kellogg Co., vice chairman-frozen; and John Farmer, Global Dairy Products Group, vice chairman-refrigerated.

Newly elected to the board were Scott Anderson, Alliance Sales & Marketing; Tony Hatok, Giant Eagle; Ari Labell, Unilever; Joe McQuesten, SpartanNash; Mark Meyer, Wells' Enterprises, Inc.; Neil Ritchey, Windsor Foods; Chris Scheid, Land O'Lakes Foods Inc.; Ken Stubbs, Florida's Natural Growers; Dave Susla, Schwan's Consumer Brands Inc.; and Jimmy Taylor, ConAgra Foods.

Elected for a second term on the board were Dave Cichocki, Kraft Cheese & Dairy Division; Brigid Gilmore, Nestle USA; William Mayo, Wakefern Food Corp.; Kevin Schwab, Pictsweet Co.; and Ron Schwenn, Roundys Inc.

Harrisburg, Pa.-based NFRA, a nonprofit trade association representing all segments of the frozen and refrigerated foods industry, sponsors March Frozen Food Month, June Dairy Month, the June/July Ice Cream & Novelties promotion, and the October Cool Food for Kids educational outreach initiative.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds