MGA Awards Grocers for Excellence

St. Paul-based Minnesota Grocers Association (MGA) presented its “2012 Outstanding Grocer” award to Doug Winsor, president and COO of Minnetonka, Minn.-based Haug Cos. The award is presented annually to a grocer who has successfully grown their company, demonstrated excellence and has made significant contributions to the industry.

Greg Hasper, VP of sales of Plymouth, Minn.-based MOM Brands Co. was honored by the MGA with its “2012 Vendor Award," which is given to those who show innovation in customer support and excellence in customer service. Hasper currently serves on the Council Board of the Vendor Leadership Committee of the MGA.

Jim Miner Sr. of Hermantown, Minn.-based Miner’s Inc. was inducted posthumously into the “MGA Hall of Fame” in recognition of his outstanding service and exemplary contributions to Minnesota’s retail food industry. Miner earned respect and admiration for a lifetime of commitment to the community and retail food industry. The dedication he showed his employees and outstanding work ethic made his induction a well-deserved acknowledgement. Miner’s family accepted the award on his behalf.

Glen Gust of Luverne, Minn.-based Glen’s Food Center was named chairman of the MGA. He took over the position from Craig Thorvig of Sandstone, Minn.-based Chris’ Food Center. Gust is an independent grocer who has met the challenges of the industry by keeping his store innovative and meeting his customer’s changing needs. Gust will engage the support of all MGA industry partners to educate consumers in the area of sustainability, food safety and social responsibility. He will serve as chairman for a two-year term.

The awards were presented by Thorvig and president Jamie Pfuhl on July 29 at MGA’s Summer Conference at Madden’s Resort in Brainerd, Minn.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds