Kroger OKs Labor Deal with Ohio Associates

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

Kroger OKs Labor Deal with Ohio Associates


Associates at stores in the valley region of the Kroger Co.’s Columbus Division have ratified a new labor agreement with United Food and Commercial Workers Union Local 23.

The contract covers 1,100 associates working in 12 stores. The valley region, part of the Cincinnati-based grocer’s Columbus Division, includes Wheeling, Weirton, Steubenville, Wintersville, St. Clairsville, Martins Ferry and other cities and towns in Ohio and West Virginia.

“We are pleased to reach an agreement that provides our associates pay increases, high-quality affordable health care and a company-funded pension that maintains current retirement benefits,” said Bruce Macaulay, Columbus Division president. “This is a good contract that rewards our associates and will help us be competitive in a tough economy.”

Kroger operates 2,439 supermarkets and multidepartment stores in 31 states under two dozen local banner names including Kroger, City Market, Dillons, Jay C, Food 4 Less, Fred Meyer, Fry’s, King Soopers, QFC, Ralphs and Smith’s.