FMI Names Store Manager Awards Winners

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

FMI Names Store Manager Awards Winners

Food Marketing Institute (FMI) yesterday revealed the grand-prize winners of the 11th Annual Store Manager Awards at FMI 2010. The honorees were Dave McCleery, store director at Russ’s Market in Lincoln, Neb., in Category A (companies with one to 49 stores); Sharon Boyett, store director of Brookshire’s in Monroe, La., in Category B (companies with 50 to 199 stores; and Molly Stiles, manager of Kroger in Farragut, Tenn., in Category C (companies with 200 or more stores).

“FMI salutes these extraordinary store managers for the leadership they show their associates, the contributions they make in their communities and the creative ways they use to increase sales,” said FMI president and CEO Leslie G. Sarasin.

The three grand-prize winners were chosen from a group of nine finalists. The finalists were selected based on stories submitted by their supervisors or store associates. Judges rated the entries according to originality and creativity, as well as the candidate’s impact on sales growth, customer satisfaction and community service.

The other finalists were Michael MacRae, store manager at Byerly’s in Eagan, Minn.; Jeremy Ruppel, store director at Niemann Foods, Inc. in Dixon, Ill.; Phyllis Scott, store manager at Food City in Vansant, Va.; Ed White, store director at Raley’s in Elk Grove, Calif.; Jamie Franck, store director at Hy-Vee, Inc. in Cedar Rapids, Iowa; and Walt Leonard, store manager at a Publix in Smyrna, Ga.

All of the finalists got two complimentary registrations to FMI 2010, three nights of hotel accommodations in Las Vegas and an engraved award. The grand-prize winners each received a $1,000 check during an award ceremony.

Last year’s grand-prize winners were Bob Gillick, ShopRite Supermarket, Yonkers, N.Y.; Henry Falcon, Sweetbay Supermarket, Plant City, Fla.; and Jeff Barricks, Safeway, Corvallis, Ore.