FMI Elects 2011 Board Officers

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

FMI Elects 2011 Board Officers


The Food Marketing Institute (FMI) elected its board chairman and five board vice chairmen at a board meeting this week during the Future Connect conference in Dallas. Fred Morganthall, president of Matthews, N.C.-based Harris Teeter Inc., was elected chairman.

Morganthall, who has been with the Southeast regional grocer since 1986, was previously vice chairman of FMI’s industry relations committee from 2007 to 2009, and a member of its executive committee. Ric Jurgens, chairman and CEO of West Des Moines, Iowa-based Hy-Vee Inc., is the immediate past chairman of the board.

Also elected Rob Bartels, president and CEO of South Bend, Ind.-based Martin’s Super Markets Inc., who will be chairman of the public affairs committee; W. Henry Johnson, president, Lake City, S.C.-based W. Lee Flowers & Co., who will be chairman of the finance committee; Scott Schnuck, chairman and CEO of St. Louis-based Schnuck Markets Inc., who will be chairman of industry relations committee; Russell “Tres” Lund III, chairman and CEO, Edina, Minn.-based Lund Food Holdings Inc., who will serve as chairman of the member services committee; and Al Plamann, president and CEO, Commerce, Calif.-based Unified Grocers, Inc., in Commerce, Calif., who will be vice chairman of the wholesalers-independents committee.

In other FMI news, the Arlington, Va.-based industry group revealed the grand-prize winners of the 12th Annual Store Manager Awards today at Future Connect conference in Dallas. They are Shawn Commons, store manager at PriceRite Supermarket in Reading, Pa., in Category A, companies with 1-49 stores; Allan Bussey, store director at the Brookshire Grocery Co. in Tyler, Texas, in Category B, companies with 50-199 stores; and Kristi Masterson, store director at Hy-Vee in Sioux Falls, S.D., in Category C, companies with 200 or more stores.

“FMI celebrates these successful store managers for the leadership they demonstrate in their stores, for the contributions they make in their communities and the innovative ways they increase sales,” noted FMI president and CEO Leslie G. Sarasin. “We know the diligence it takes to generate sales growth and make a positive impact in this competitive marketplace, and we salute all of them for their extraordinary work.”

Finalists were selected based on stories submitted from supervisors or store associates. The entries were evaluated according to originality, creativity, and the person’s impact on sales growth, customer satisfaction and community service.

During a presentation ceremony, the grand-prize winners each received a $1,000 check and a crystal award.