FMI Elects 2009 Board Members

The Food Marketing Institute (FMI) has elected four new members of the FMI board of directors today, in addition to a board chairman and four board vice chairmen.

Elected to the FMI Board of Directors were Mark Batenic, chairman, president and CEO, IGA, Inc., Chicago; Rudy Dory, owner, Rudy’s Markets, Inc., Bend, Ore.; Jerry Garland, president and CEO, Associated Wholesale Grocers Inc., Kansas City, Kan.; and Dean Peterson, president and CEO, Harmon City, Inc., West Valley City, Utah.

Richard N. “Ric” Jurgens, chairman, CEO and president of Hy-Vee, Inc., West Des Moines, Iowa, was elected chairman of the FMI Board; and Steven C. Smith, president and CEO of K-VA-T Food Stores, Inc., d/b/a Food City, Abingdon, Va., is the immediate past chairman of the FMI board.

Elected as FMI vice chairmen to the board were Gregory Calhoun, president and CEO of Calhoun Food Markets, Inc., Montgomery, Ala., who will serve as chairman of the public affairs committee; William Coyne, president and CEO of Raley’s Family of Fine Stores, Sacramento, Calif., who will serve as chairman of the finance committee; Ed Crenshaw, CEO of Publix Super Markets, Inc., Lakeland, Fla., who will serve as chairman of the industry relations committee; and Dave Skogen, owner and chairman of the board of Festival Foods, Onalaska, Wis., who will serve as chairman of the member services committee.

Arlington, Va.-based FMI conducts programs in public affairs, food safety, research, education and industry relations on behalf of its 1,500 member companies -- food retailers and wholesalers -- in the United States and globally. The trade group’s U.S. members operate about 26,000 retail food stores and 14,000 pharmacies. Its international membership includes 200 companies from over 50 countries.
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds