Skip to main content

FMI Elects 2008 Board Members

Food Marketing Institute this week said it has elected 30 directors to the FMI board, as well as a chair and four vice chairs.

Elected and reelected directors are Joseph Azzolina Sr., president of Food Circus Supermarkets, Inc., Middletown, N.J.; A.N. John Basha Jr., vice chairman of the board of Bashas' Inc., Chandler, Ariz.; Lawrence S. Benjamin, c.o.o. of Ahold USA, Inc., Carlisle, Pa. (newly elected); Bradley W. Brookshire, chairman of the board of Brookshire Grocery Co., Tyler, Texas; James Buchanan, president and c.e.o. of Laurel Grocery Co., LLC, London, Ky. (newly elected); Daniel G. Coborn, chairman of the board of Coborn's, Inc., St. Cloud, Minn.; Richard B. Cohen, chairman and c.e.o. of C&S Wholesale Grocers, Inc., Keene, N.H.; Joseph S. Colalillo, president of ShopRite of Hunterdon County, Inc., Flemington, N.J.; Ronald B. Edenfield, president of Wayfield Foods, Inc., Atlanta; Steven Goddard, president and c.e.o. of WinCo Foods, LLC, Boise, Idaho (newly elected); Oscar Gonzalez, c.o.o. of Northgate Gonzalez Market, Anaheim, Calif. (newly elected); Thomas M. Honer, president and owner of Harvest Market, Fort Bragg, Calif.; Lee Ann James, president of E.W. James & Sons, Inc., Union City, Tenn.; Anthony Longo, president and c.e.o. of Longo's Brothers Fruit Markets, Inc., Ontario; Angel Losada Moreno, c.e.o. of Grupo Gigante, S.A.B. de C.V., Mexico City; John Lucot, president of supermarket operations and c.o.o., Giant Eagle, Inc., Pittsburgh; Peter L. Lynch, chairman of the Board, c.e.o., and president of Winn-Dixie Stores, Inc., Jacksonville, Fla.; Tokutaro Masui, president and c.e.o. of Kinokuniya Co., Ltd., Tokyo; Norman C. Mayne, president and c.e.o. of Dorothy Lane Market, Inc., Dayton, Ohio; Robert G. Miller, c.e.o. of Albertsons, LLC, Boise, Idaho (newly elected); Richard A. Parkinson, president and c.e.o. of Associated Food Stores, Inc., Salt Lake City, Utah; Arthur Potash, c.e.o. of Potash Bros. (newly elected), Chicago; Sen. Feargal Quinn, president of Superquinn, Dublin, Ireland; Gonzalo Restrepo, c.e.o. of Almacenes Exito, S.A., Medellin, Colombia; David R. Skogen, owner and chairman of the Board of Festival Foods, Onalaska, Wis.; Mike Stone, president and c.e.o. of Mollie Stone's Markets, Mill Valley, Calif. (newly elected); Ruediger Strein, director of OHG Fegro/Selgros, Neu-Isenburg, Germany; Craig C. Sturken, chairman and CEO of Spartan Stores, Inc., Grand Rapids, MI; Bruce Weitz, president and c.e.o. of Kings Super Markets, Inc., Parsippany, N.Y. (newly elected); and Michael T. Williams, president of Williams' Apple Market, Memphis, Tenn.

Richard N. "Ric" Jurgens, chairman, c.e.o., and president of Hy-Vee, Inc., West Des Moines, Iowa; Fred Morganthall, president of Harris Teeter, Inc., Matthews, N.C.; Gary Phillips, president and c.e.o. of Associated Wholesale Grocers, Inc., Kansas City, Kan.; and Norman S. Rich, c.e.o. of Weis Markets, Inc., Sunbury, Pa. were elected as FMI vice chairs.

Steven C. Smith, president and CEO of Abingdon, Va.-based K-VA-T Food Stores, Inc., d/b/a Food City, was elected chair of the FMI board. Jeffrey Noddle, chairman and c.e.o. of Minneapolis-based Supervalu, Inc. is the immediate past chair.

FMI's retail membership is made up of large multistore chains, regional firms, and independent supermarkets. Its international membership encompasses 200 companies from 50 countries.
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds