ConAgra CEO Elected GMA Chairman

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

ConAgra CEO Elected GMA Chairman


The Grocery Manufacturers Association (GMA) said that Gary M. Rodkin, CEO of Omaha, Neb.-based ConAgra Foods, was elected chairman of the trade organization’s board of directors, effective Feb. 16. Rodkin will serve a two-year term.

“GMA is very fortunate to have a leader of Gary’s experience, commitment and passion in this critical leadership role,” noted Pamela G. Bailey, president and CEO of the Washington-based association.

Rodkin was previously vice chairman of GMA and chairman of the group’s Government Affairs Council. He joined ConAgra Foods in October 2005 where, under his guidance, the CPG manufacturer morphed from a holding company for dozens of leading consumer brands and businesses to a unified operating company. Before taking the helm at ConAgra, Rodkin was chairman and CEO of Purchase, N.Y.-based PepsiCo Beverages and Foods North America, whose brands include Pepsi, Gatorade, Tropicana and Quaker Foods. From 1979 to 1995, he held marketing and general management positions of increasing responsibility at Minneapolis-based General Mills.

“Our core mission is to provide responsible public policy solutions while our members deliver the safest, most convenient and affordable products to our consumers,” said Rodkin, who attended Harvard Business School and was profiled in the December 2007 Harvard Business Review.

GMA also revealed the election of five new members of the board of directors: J.S. Brown III, president and CEO, Bruce Foods Corp. (ex-officio); John Bryant, president and CEO, Kellogg Co.; Robert Gamgort, CEO, Pinnacle Foods Group LLC; Larry Pope, president and CEO, Smithfield Foods Inc.; and David Yanda, president and CEO, Lakeside Foods Inc.