Skip to main content

Calif. Grocers Association Elects New Chairman

The California Grocers Association (CGA) elected Joe Falvey, SVP and president, Market Centre for Unified Grocers Inc., to chairman of the board at the association’s annual meeting on Dec. 5.

Falvey will serve a one-year term and succeeds Mary Kasper of Fresh & Easy, who will become immediate past chair. Falvey will oversee the legislative, educational, communications and industry-related programs of the association, which comprises 300 retail companies that operate more than 6,000 stores in California and Nevada.

 “Joe’s extensive knowledge of the grocery industry, particularly here in California, will be of tremendous value to the Association,” said CGA President and CEO Ronald Fong. “He has strong professional relationships throughout the industry and is very well respected by his peers. The board and staff look forward to his leadership in the coming year.”

CGA also elected new members to the 2014-2015 board of directors, the slate of which includes first vice chair, Kevin Konkel, Raley’s; second vice chair, Diana Godfrey, Smart & Final Stores; treasurer, Jim Wallace, Albertsons, LLC; and secretary, Bob Parriott, Twain Harte Market.

Chairman’s appointments to the executive committee include Dave Jones, Kellogg Co.; Kendra Doyel, Ralphs Grocery Co.; and Kevin Arceneaux, Mondelez International Inc.

Directors elected to their first full three-year term are Rich Arnold, Oberto Brands; Art Jackson, Costco Wholesale; Lynn Melillo, Bristol Farms; and Denny Silva, Coca-Cola Refreshments.

Directors elected to their second three-year term include Brent Cotton, The Hershey Co.; Casey McQuaid, E. & J. Gallo Winery; Dan Meyer, Stater Bros. Markets; Phil Miller, C&S Wholesale Grocers; and Mike Stamper, Nestle, DSD.

Former CGA Chair Kevin Davis, Bristol Farms, was elected an honorary board member.


This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds